Worst Movie Ever

There are many things that can frustrate me and drive me up the wall. One of it is an online game that my husband introduced me to. Often, I’d find my character being killed off over and over again, despite the endless streams of health and mana potions. I end up telling myself that if I ever died again (my game character, that is), I’m going to quit the game.

But I never do. I stubbornly replay that round until I win. My husband calls me ‘tenacious’. I think I’m just stubborn and refuse to give up.

But my tenacity didn’t spill over to the books I read and the movies I watch. I don’t enjoy giving up on books that were dull or uninteresting. I’d still press on, stubbornly again, struggling to finish them. But I’m not perfect. I’m only human. And I have stopped reading books that were uninteresting. Two or three, I think. I’m more careful now when it comes to buying books. Goodreads and Amazon are two of my most trusted sites to go to when it comes to researching a book prior to buying it. Amazon, because it lets me read the first few pages of a book to see if I liked what I saw.

Movies, however, are a little different. No amount of official trailers on YouTube, rotten tomatoes or IMDB reviews could help prepare me for the worst movie of my life.

During my courtship years with my then-boyfriend (now-husband), we went to watch a fantasy movie. I can’t remember the name but I knew there were knights, horses, a king and a kingdom, and quite possibly a dragon in it as well. The timeline of the movie was also set during the medieval era. Oh, the movie was so boring! It started out quite slowly, with too much talk and not enough action. The acting was flat. I didn’t even recognise any of the actors and actresses! I sat there, staring blankly at the big screen for at least a quarter way into the movie before I finally decided to call it quits.

Yes, I walked out of the cinema. And that was the only time I ever walked out of a cinema hall before the end of a movie. Even the cinema hall wasn’t packed like a can of sardines like it usually was. The lack of movie-goers made the cinema hall quite cold. I could feel the chill despite wearing my jeans-and-sweater combo.

Needless to say, I’ve also become more careful when it comes to watching movies today. I didn’t want to waste time and money for a movie that wasn’t worth it. Thankfully, at that time, movie tickets didn’t cost a bomb. Also, in this day and age, if you did miss a movie you wanted to watch or thought would be great, you could always download it or stream it and watch it in your own time.

What about you? Have you ever walked out of a movie before?