Imprisoned at Home.

Forgot your key again? | Photo by Emergency Locksmith.
Forgot your key again? Are you locked in or locked out? | Photo by Emergency Locksmith.

Answer me honestly. How often do you get locked in or out of your own home? And how do you feel about it? How does it feel to be a prisoner in your own home? Not because you’re parked under house arrest, but because of something that shouldn’t have happened in the first place.

Because I’m usually quite careful with these things and I always make sure that my house keys are with me before getting out of the car. But for some reason, I slipped up last night and accidentally left my own house keys in the car. Which seemed to have eluded me upon getting out of the car last night after dinner.

I only realised that I didn’t have the keys with me this morning as I was preparing to leave for work. At first, it was unbelievable and I didn’t want to admit that I didn’t have my keys with me. When reality finally sank in, I knew that I couldn’t get out and therefore, I was not able to get to work. Which left me no choice but to ring my husband at work and inform him about my situation. That wasn’t the problem. Ringing my boss up and telling her about the situation was the issue, and truth be told, it was the stupidest thing to be telling your boss about, no matter how nice or nasty your boss is. Thankfully, mine was nice enough to understand the crisis (and laughed at my expense).

I am normally quite careful, especially in matters like this, since my mum and sister have done this before to themselves and I’ve always been the one to chastise them for their carelessness. I suppose karma does come into play now. What goes around, comes around. Now I’m stuck in this situation and I can only wait until my husband comes back to rescue me and send me to work. Thankfully, it won’t be long until he comes.

Leave a Reply

