When I was diagnosed with autism and ADHD in 2021, I felt the need to constantly have some music to help me focus. Whether it was at home or at the office, music was always welcomed. The only obstacle was getting myself a pair of really good earbuds or headphones.

Since then, I’ve been a long-term user of the Honor Buds Lite and the Nothing Ear (1) Buds. They were both really good options but after 3 online calls for work at the office, I realised that my ears are not built for earbuds.

Most earbuds are in-ear pieces that rest in your ear canals. And these earbuds left my ear canals sore and painful. I liked the design of certain earbuds but while they look amazing and futuristic, they don’t always work for me. I even tried using bone-conduction earphones. I must have a really small head because they don’t sit properly on me either.

What a disappointment.

So, I turned to a really good friend and asked for his recommendations. Surely he would know some brands that could suit me well. Armed with my budget and a few simple requirements, he set off on a virtual journey.

And came back with several options, including Edifier, Anker, and Sony.

Of the three, I chose Edifier. It was more affordable and since most stores carry the brand, I could go and try them out for myself. With that, I could finally rest both the Honor Buds Lite and the Nothing Ear (1) Buds in peace in favour of the Edifier W820NB Bluetooth ANC headphones.

Edifier, A Brief History

Courtesy of www.edifier.com.

Edifier has a strong history of releasing great-sounding headphones at an affordable price compared to other brands. This is my first time using the brand and it is already giving me great vibes in terms of quality. The W820NB offers a lightweight alternative to the other brands that I’ve tried, with additional features such as an ambient sound mode and smartphone app integration.

Established in 1996 by a passionate team of audiophiles, Edifier has consistently pursued the goal of creating world-class audio equipment. From humble beginnings in a small Beijing workshop, Edifier has grown into a global powerhouse, with its innovative products now gracing the ears of millions of satisfied users in all corners of the world.

Over the years, Edifier has earned a reputation for combining cutting-edge technology with artistic design. All these went on; at the same time, maintaining a relentless focus on delivering an unparalleled user experience. Their notable dedication to quality and innovation has reached many eyes (and ears), as the brand has garnered numerous prestigious awards and accolades throughout the years.

The Ultimate Audio Experience for Your Ears

The Edifier W820NB headphones are sold in a good quality retail box where you can find a Type-C USB charging cable and a small user guide. The box design itself has a minimalist appearance, not just the contents within the box. You can download and install the ‘Edifier Connect’ app and have access to a full user manual directly on your phone. I’ve yet to try this but most reviewers say that it is a breeze to use.

The headphones offer a well-balanced sound that feels natural throughout the ranges. The bass is present but not too overpowering that you’d feel your heart preparing to leap out of your ribcage. However, it is still pleasant enough for long periods of listening to music.

As this is my first experience using Edifier, I’m not sure what to expect nor have I used other brands to compare to (except the Airphone 3 by SonicGear; that’s a story for another day). But I was impressed right off the bat. The sound quality is excellent! I rotated through my Spotify playlist; regardless of type, everything sounded great and charming without being scratchy or buzzy.

I haven’t had a proper virtual call for work yet, but that short random call I asked my husband to have with me helped to reach a conclusion – that the headphones did a great job delivering clear calls. I could hear his voice well and he said I sounded sharp.

There are actually three settings for the W820NB – ANC on, ANC off, and Ambient mode. Active Noise Cancelling (ANC) is quickly becoming essential in the headphone world. ANC helps to eliminate outside noise from bleeding into your headphones. The Ambient mode is well-balanced for me, allowing me to still hear the chatter outside but not too loud to mess with my music. The ANC in the Nothing Ear (1) buds was a lot stronger than the W820NB but it still works like a charm to block off unwanted sounds anyway.

The Perfect Fit for Your Head

The Edifier W820NB is predominantly made of plastic but comes with a matte finish. Despite its plasticky outlook, it didn’t look cheap. I’ve been using them for long-term use since buying them two days ago. So far, I see no issues with durability. But it’s only been two days. Give me a week and maybe I’d update this post.

Its overall appearance gives it a modern, minimalist design with a small Edifier logo on either side of the headband. It is available in 3 colours – grey, white, and black. Although the store I bought it from only had grey and white was out of stock.

When it comes to comfort, the W820NB is a gem!

The combination of the lightweight design and soft padding on the earcups and headband make the W820NB a pleasure to wear. Coming in at just 220g, it doesn’t feel like a prison on your head. The clamping force is pretty light on my ears as well. They don’t feel loose nor threaten to skydive off your head. The memory foam fits snugly around my ears and with such small ears, I’m glad they don’t feel squashed.

The headband has a foam pad on the underside which distributes any pressure on top of my head. I haven’t felt the oncoming symptoms of a headache yet. Plastic yokes attach the earcups to the headband and allow both to pivot and swivel at 90°. With the swivelling cups, I can comfortably rest the headphones around my neck or place them flat on the table.

The Perfect Companion for Your Adventures

The right earcup houses all the essential controls and the USB charging port. You can also enjoy wired listening on the computer by plugging in the headphones via the USB cable. The overall quality is impressive for headphones in this price bracket. It can even last up to a whopping 49 hours worth of playtime!

Managing your music is as simple as pressing the rubberised buttons on the underside of the right earcup. Each press offers a satisfying tactile click without feeling mushy. The up and down buttons manage both volume and track selection – a short tap adjusts the volume while a long press skips tracks. The power button plays and pauses with a short tap but when it is held down, it turns the headphones on or off.

A little way from the three buttons is the Bluetooth pairing button. This multi-function button toggles between ANC on/off and Ambient Sound on/off with a single press. But double tapping the button activates or deactivates the low latency game mode.

Turning on the headphones places you in ANC mode. If you want it turned off, simply press the Bluetooth button. In standard mode, latency is minimal due to Bluetooth 5.0, making it perfect for watching videos. I tried using the headphones while gaming. It held its own pretty well. Any delay is virtually undetectable, so that’s a huge plus! Since I play The Elder Scrolls Online quite often and once in a while, I like to use headphones.

Monitoring battery life and accessing headphone settings is a breeze with the Edifier Connect app. This well-designed app is an exception, offering a clean interface and an easily accessible shortcut in your phone’s drop-down menu.

My Verdict?

My first experience with Edifier was truly impressive, thanks to the W820NB headphones. Though their design might be considered plain, they more than compensate with exceptional audio quality and comfort.

The battery life is notably impressive, with or without ANC enabled. Understandably, their ANC could be more effective, but if A-list noise cancelling and EQ settings aren’t your top priorities, this pair of over-ear headphones is all you need. After all, they’re lightweight, well-constructed, feature a clean and understated design, and come with outstanding battery life.

I’m hugely grateful to my friend for recommending this precious pair to me. Who can say no to these qualities and more? Definitely not me. The Edifier W820NB is certainly a worthy addition to my new audio adventure.