Growing up, I’ve always wanted toys.

It didn’t matter what — it could be a Marvel action figure, Hot Wheels, a diecast superbike or sportscar, or a NERF gun. All I knew was that I wanted it wrapped for my birthday or placed under the Christmas tree.

Mom always said to wait until I started working. Then I’d have my own money to buy whatever I wanted.

But mom never told me that I’d also have bills to pay, petrol for my car, insurance to fork out for, and a mortgage in my name.

Still, I slogged. Because I wanted my toys.

And I got my wish.

Introducing the Paperang P2 Compact Thermal Printer.

The Paperang P2 Compact Printer + Mascot (Justin)
Paperang Mascot, Justin; Paperang Printer; and Micro USB Cable

You see, I do a lot of creative journalling in my free time. Creative journalling has been a huge part of my life since my anxiety and autism diagnosis. It helps me cope with life and all the lemons it has for me.

But sometimes, I want more creativity. Sketching doesn’t always do it for me. Not everything looks the way it does on paper the way it has in my mind. So, I have to think of something else.

Hence, the Paperang P2. Why? Because…

Convenience

A portable and compact (or mini) printer that goes wherever you go.

Usage

It uses inkless thermal printing on receipt paper rolls and comes with a Bluetooth connection. Simply download the app from either the Play Store or the App Store and install it on your phone. To turn it on or off, just press and hold the ‘Power’ button for 3 seconds.

Resolution

The resolution of the Paperang P2 reaches 300 dpi, compared to its predecessor, the Paperang P1, which was at 200 dpi.

I bought the Paperang P2: Limited Edition during the 1.1 Shopee Sale for RM 175. The only downside is that it uses a micro USB for charging.

Print Samples

I tried printing a few items with it. It is a tad grainy for photos as faces and places tend to have great detail that isn’t always captured.

But it is pretty decent for images such as book covers (now you can start that book review journal you’ve always dreamed of doing!), text (quotes, lists, or paragraphs), and sketches that are more suited for this print type.

A sample print of the Paperang P2
A sample print of a book cover

Now I can capture moments anytime, anywhere, without the hassle of printing costs.