There is a Time for Teetotallers Like Me.

glenfiddichcaskcollectionlrg

10 months ago on August 4, 2016, I joined the company I’m currently at today in a bid to escape the humdrum of unemployment. Last year (2016), I was out of a job (and out of sorts!) for 5 months! 5 months is a long time for someone who graduated with a degree, is well-read and well-educated.

Times were tough last year. Projects closed and contracts were cancelled. I was left with no choice but to take the first thing I saw and well, even if the job scope and company weren’t exactly what I was looking for, I wasn’t in any position to turn down the offer. I wasn’t in any position to negotiate either. So I took it. I took the first thing that was given to me after being out of a job for 5 months. I took it… and 3 months in, I almost regretted my actions.

Almost being the keyword here because it was a role I didn’t have prior experience for and it was the toughest 3 months of my life! That was the period of probation that every new employee was deigned to go through. It was a period of suffering and learning, much to my chagrin. It was during that period when I was constantly bombarded by thoughts of quitting, thoughts of resigning. It was, by far, the most overwhelming, most tedious and traumatising job I have ever done.

10 months later, today, I am feeling much better. I went through the cycles of breaking down, crying, stressing out until I fell sick, feeling depressed and demotivated. Today, I am feeling so much better because (and I hate to say this as it means that my boss was right all along) I know and understand my job a lot more now and know how to do the tasks that are required of me. I am still learning, no doubt about that. Nobody ever stops learning, if you ask me. But I’m no longer the same person I once was 10 months ago. I have learnt to manage my stress better, I have learnt to open up and get acquaintanced with other people at the office, and the biggest hurdle that I overcame was learning to work with the teammates who were once difficult to me when I first joined the company.

I learnt to speak their language. I learnt to read their behaviours. I learnt to understand their characters and personalities. I learnt to become one of them. Although that pretty much came with some consequences but it was kind of worth it. Because it makes the job a lot less stressful too.

single-malt-scotch-whiskey-4

It’s only another 2 months (August 4, 2017) before I reach my 3rd milestone since joining the company. My first two milestones had been to get confirmed and get a bonus and an increment to my salary. Both of which I achieved. My next milestone is to stay at a job for at least a year and it’s only another 2 months before I can finally grasp it.

And so, on August 4, 2017 (a Friday of all days, can you believe it!), I plan to splurge on a bottle of Scotch. I’m not a drinker so I hardly know my way around whiskies. I may not be a drinker, but I’m no stranger to alcohol and liquor. Although, from my brief research last night, a Glenfiddich 12, Glenmorangie 12 or Balvenie DoubleWood 12 seem like a good fit for beginners like me. Or I suppose anything that can produce that butterscotchy, vanilla and/or dark chocolate, nutty and creamy flavours…

I have enjoyed a glass of Scotch once at a company event (can’t remember what it was; Johnnie Walker or Black Label) and without having to read up on how to enjoy the drink, I didΒ what every guide has said to do when you’re drinking it for the first time:

Nose (smell) the beverage, tip the glass to your lips and take a sip. Swish the liquid around your mouth for the taste before swallowing. Take a deep breath and enjoy the flavour.

To put it simply, that was my summarised version of how Scotch was meant to be taken. But if you want to know more and are not an expert on this subject, here are a couple of links that Scotch newbies like yours truly can visit for some insight into the liquid golden world of whisky:

Leave a Reply

