Book Review: Sinners by Jackie Collins.

sinners-by-jackie-collins-goodreads

There was just too much sex, lust and perversity in this book. Too much. So much so that once I was done with it, I had to detox my brain with another one that came with none of what I’ve read in Jackie Collins’ novel.

Gosh.

The History Behind Sinners

The novel was originally titled Sunday Simmons & Charlie Brick and published in 1971 by W. H. Allen, before it was retitled The Hollywood Zoo in 1975 and then as Sinners in 1984. The character of Charlie Brick was rumoured to be based on actor comedian Peter Sellers, a close friend of Collins’ at the time. This novel was Collins’ first novel set in Los Angeles and also the first one that centred on the lives and loves of movie stars. Her previous two novels were set in London.

In Sinners, author Jackie Collins exposes the darker side of Hollywood; a side that many people hardly get to catch a glimpse of and assuming everything is peachy fine. Just like the fairytale notion of marrying a Prince and becoming a Princess. Nope. This dark side of Hollywood exists beneath all the glitz, gloss and glamour. This seemingly dark side reveals the shocking lifestyles of the rich and the famous (cue: Lifestyles of the Rich and the Famous song by Good Charlotte here).

Every character in this book comes from every walk of life. They could be beautiful or bad; brilliant or bored. But they all have one common goal: to get the best table, sign the most lucrative deal and grab the biggest piece of the action! Obscene wealth, kinky sex, household name fame… You name it, they want it all and all of these are made available in the pleasure capital of known as Hollywood.

The Not-So-Sinful Ones

Charlie Brick is a famous actor. So rich, so successful and so famous that every woman he sleeps with has the personal agenda of appearing in his movies in return for sex. Despite being at the top of his game, he realises that money can’t buy him happiness. His wife of many years has left him for someone else and taken their two children with her. His efforts to win her back backfires and he is devastated to find that she was getting married. As a result, he turns to alcohol and girls in hopes of forgetting his troubles. One day, in a drunken frenzy, he marries Dindi Sydne, a girl whom he falsely believed to be sweet and innocent but who turns out to be just as greedy as the rest, if not worse.

Sunday Simmons is a beautiful and aspiring actress with integrity and a conscience that many of her type do not possess. She enters Hollywood by way of Rio, London and Rome with very strict principles and a clear idea of right and wrong. Jaws drop. Top directors and producers want her name in their contracts and their movies. Despite her carefully-constructed conscience, she soon finds herself ensconced in a web of evil. Among the hangers-on and the bodybuilders, the hookers-turned-actresses and the sex-addicted execs, there is one evil man even more bizarre than any screenwriter could have ever invented. And he will not rest until he can make his most depraved fantasies come true. She soon learns that you can’t get somewhere without making at least one sacrifice.

I Was All Sinned Out

Honestly, I felt a tad disappointed with the book. Like I mentioned in my first paragraph, there were way too many descriptions of sex, lust and perversity in it. The amount of greed and deception annoyed me and made me feel depressed. I’d say it almost skewed my perception of Hollywood too, knowing that not every actor and actress was as bad as they were painted in the novel. Collins’ lead characters were shallow (your typical dumb blonde types). Even Sunday Simmons who first appeared as independent and intelligent eventually falls in love with a man who rapes her (and has the characters in his movie do the same thing as well!) and treats her disgracefully. It’s like agreeing with the idea that girls SHOULD go for bad boys and let them be mistreated.

This had been the most X-rated book I have ever read and one with the grossest list of characters too! Herbert Jefferson by far is the most disgusting and vilest man I’ve ever read about and he gets my vote for Evilest Man of the Year 2017 award. I felt like I could just murder him from beyond the pages! Dindi Sydne was so bitchy and slutty I could have slapped her until my hands fell off. Natalie Allen and Thames Mason were your typical dumb blondes though. And don’t get me started on the rest like Clay Allen, Steve Magnum and Claude Hussan. Oh Lord.

I’m not a big fan of Jackie Collins and this is my first book that I’ve read that was written by her. But I do know that the book itself felt pretty shallow and left me wondering what is Hollywood really all about. No disrespect meant to all you Jackie Collins fans out there. It’s just the way I felt about the book after I finished reading it.

Leave a Reply

