After Raya Comes the Weekend.

Hello readers,

How has your Raya holidays been? I hope you’ve been making all your Raya visits to your family and friends’ homes, sharing tears of laughter and memories.

My apologies for my absence on my blog. I may not celebrate Hari Raya but I’ve been doing my own thing during the past 3 days. Catching up with friends. Having dinners with my parents. Spending some quality time with my husband and two cats, Loki and Chibi. Watching Germany lose to France after a Bastian Schweinsteiger handball gave a penalty to the French. It has been a wonderful holiday, and today is already the 4th day of the long 5-day weekend. It’s a pity that it’s coming to an end soon. But hey, all good things must come to an end, yes?

IMG_20160704_121036

Apart from spending quality time with my family and friends, I’ve also been spending my personal time with the next best thing in my life –> books. I love reading, and I love books so I have been taking a few minutes trying to pick the next title after I finished reading Honour by Elif Shafak. A sad tale, that was.

‘My mother died twice. I promised myself I would not let her story be forgotten’. And so begins the story of Esma a young Kurdish woman in London trying to come to terms with the terrible murder her brother has committed. Esma tells the story of her family stretching back three generations; back to her grandmother and the births of her mother and Aunt in a village on the edge of the Euphrates. Named Pembe and Jamila, meaning Pink and Beautiful rather than the names their mother wanted to call them, Destiny and Enough, the twin girls have very different futures ahead of them all of which will end in tragedy on a street in East London in 1978. A powerful, brilliant and moving account of murder, love and family set in a Kurdish village, Istanbul and London.

How would you feel, though, if you found out about your mother’s secret love affair and secret lover? Worse is if you were unable to do anything about it or perhaps didn’t want to interfere in these matters. Eventually you learn that your sibling has decided to take matters into his own hands by eliminating the problem… only to find out that he killed the wrong person! The Toprak family fell apart after the father committed suicide, the aunt had been wrongfully murdered, the mother went into hiding, and the eldest son jailed for killing his aunt after mistaking her for his mother (they were twins).

From the photo above, I chose Jimmy Carter’s The Hornet’s Nest as the next book to read.

SAM_0483

I also spent some time on Thursday night trawling Mid Valley Megamall for some items for our home. Dinner was taken at a Japanese restaurant called Hanamaru Udon, where I had a bowl of beef udon soup with onsen egg and two sticks of chicken karaage (Japanese fried chicken).

Only after dinner did we purchase a new bedsheet set to go with our new bed frame, and another stack of clothes hangers from Aeon Jusco. We were also looking at some microwave ovens and portable air-conditioners for the home too, but a lack of finances prevented us from making another transaction.

We had so much fun over the past 3 days that it almost seems unreal that everyone will be back to work next week. If only every day was a public holiday and all the roads are unclogged from all kinds of traffic.

What about you? How has your holidays been? I hope you had as much fun as I did!

Leave a Reply

