Be Green, Eat Clean.

IMG_20160623_212900

Well, being green doesn’t mean you go vegan and leave the animals alone. My definition of being green was to include as much greens as possible into your meals. Like what I did for dinner last night.

We often have rubbish meals on a daily basis; meals that aren’t balanced and don’t always contain the right amount of nutrition. It can range from fast food to really random stuff that pops into our heads when we’re too hungry to think straight. So I try to make it a point to make proper meals when I’m home.

On days that I prepare dinner, we don’t have to worry about what to eat that night because I’d have already planned what I’m going to cook for us. The only issue is that I don’t cook all the time. But when I do, I go all out and prepare what looks like five-star meals in an ordinary kitchen.

I was torn between preparing an Asian meal and whipping up a Western one. Should I slice and dice one chicken thigh up (and save the other for another day), stir fry it with broccoli, and have them with rice? Or should I go with another round of chicken chop, broccoli, and something on the side (mashed potatoes, maybe…)?

In the end, I went for the Western option. It was far simpler to prepare, and required less ingredients to work with. All you need are a couple of chicken thighs, a head of broccoli, some couscous, and a marinade concoction.

The marinade can be made according to your preferences and how you want it to taste. For me, I used roasted garlic sauce, some coarse black pepper, oregano and mixed herbs, and a dash of olive oil. Pour the marinade all over your chicken thighs and knead them in. Make sure every inch of the chicken thighs are covered in the marinade, wrap the plate with a sheet of clear plastic food cover, and leave them to refrigerate for at least 2 hours. Cut up the broccoli into florets and prepare a pot of water to boil them in. Add some salt into the water so that your broccoli florets will have taste. Prepare your couscous and set them aside. When the chicken is ready, take them out of the refrigerator, and fire up your stove. You can use a wok or a non-stick frying pan for this. I used the latter since my stove is actually an induction cooker.

You may have to stand there for awhile, endure the hot-oil spattering on your arms while the chicken cooks to a tender brown. You might have to sweat it out while boiling your broccoli. But once everything is ready and you sit down for dinner, you will feel great and proud of yourself for having prepared such a wonderful meal.

Bon appetit, guys!

Leave a Reply

