Writing and Beyond.

25076bd
Image credits: LinkedIn.com.

Hello readers,

It has certainly been awhile since I’ve published something here. Well, let me put your minds at ease (though I’m sure you all have better things to do than to sit and stare at your laptops 24/7 and waiting to see a post go up). I was quite occupied with doing some research for a freelance piece that I had agreed to do last week.

You see, there are some things about me that got the panties of most employers up in a knot. Firstly, most of them are aware that I am keen on breaking into web-writing and doing content creation and curation. The problem is that before I signed the three-month contract with the current company I am working with, I hadn’t had much of a portfolio to show for. I didn’t have any writing samples for the companies I applied to.

But now that I do, I can confidently say that there is much less rejection than before. And also, with this new freelance arrangement for a piece that I have agreed to complete for another company, I have a little bit more hope for my future.

Now you got to remember that having a portfolio is vital when attending an interview for a career change. There are some companies that wouldn’t mind taking a risk and hiring you anyway, regardless of whether you have any samples to show or not. But there are some companies who wouldn’t bat an eyelid or even look in your direction the moment you turn up with nothing to show. These were the companies that drove me up the wall, yet you have to understand that they are just doing their jobs. They wouldn’t want to hire a person who claims that he or she can do anything as long as they put their hearts and minds into it and can learn while working. It doesn’t work that way.

notebook850x480
Image credits: Write with Impact.

So rather than put myself in the spot again, I sucked it up and said, “Alright, I will sign this contract even if it’s only for three months.” Because three months later, I can say that I have done this and that for the company, and I have saved up all the softcopy versions of the work that I’ve ever done. And these are for you to have a look. Now will you consider me then, for the role that I have applied for?

I’ll be honest with you. I started writing (and continued maintaining) this blog because I love writing and I love putting my thoughts and opinions out there for the world to see and agree (or disagree) with me. I love to see your ideas, whether they coincide with mine. I love to read your comments, even if it’s just a one-liner (or not). But with this blog, I am able to showcase my writing style to prospective employers. At least by browsing through my blog, they are able to tell whether they like my writing style or not. I know of several employers who don’t enjoy reading long stories, as well as those who love it when you write until you reach the end of the world.

Remember, you have to start somewhere to reach your destination. Just like travelling. You don’t just wake up one day and find yourself in the Maldives. If only that were true, I’d be opening my eyes and finding myself in various honeymoon destinations around the world! The same goes with finding your perfect job. Well, I don’t think there is such a thing as a perfect job, but there is such a thing as doing what you love and that is already perfect enough.

Do what you gotta do, and I wish all the best to you.

Leave a Reply

