What Happens When Your Throat Hurts.

SoreThroats
Image credits: Family Health Diary.

Imagine that you’re at a dinner buffet, your eyes darting left and right, observing the entire delicious and beautiful spread right before you. Should you shuck some oysters first? Or maybe you should start small with a garden salad. No wait, there’s sushi and sashimi. You’ve been dying for some Japanese since, like, forever!

You shovel some of each anyway into your plate and head back to your seat. Boy, aren’t you hungry! You purposely ate little for lunch and stayed away from tea time just so you could eat comfortably at the buffet. You drizzle a bit of Tabasco sauce and a squeeze of lime into an oyster. You pick it up and toss it backwards. You savour the freshness of the oyster, and suddenly… OH WOW, WHAT THE HELL, MY THROAT HURTS!

You gag, you cough, you struggle to swallow the tasty morsel down. Not to mention, the sour tang of the lime juice is stinging your throat to no end. That wince of pain, that scrunched up face. You know something’s not right. Did you already know you had a sore throat? Or had it always been a mild one that could easily be ignored?

Well, I happen to have a very bad sore throat now. I still have no idea how it came about. All I know was that I actually recovered from a bout of minor sore throat roughly about 2 weeks ago. I thought it was gone for good!

Nope, I was wrong. It came back in full regalia on Sunday, and gave me a fever on Monday night. I took panadol to break the fever but all that remained was the epic sore throat. Now I’m a little concerned. I had this sore throat before, once, and it was terrible. The doctor had classified it as tonsillitis, and I was given medication to treat it. Back when I had it, I had high fever as well.

Did you know there is a difference among the 3 stages of sore throat?

Yep. There’s your normal sore throat that occurs as the first sign of an oncoming cold. This type would eventually go away after 2 days. Other symptoms of a cold that may follow the sore throat include runny nose and congestion. I didn’t have a cold so it’s definitely not it.

Strep throat is an infection caused by the streptococcus bacteria, which happens to be another cause of sore throats and tonsillitis. With strep throat, the sore throat is often more severe and persists for more than the standard 2 days since its occurrence. Tonsillitis is a painful inflammation or infection of the tonsils, which are the tissue masses located at the back of your throat.

I’m not sure what mine is but it does feel like it falls in the latter 2 categories. It hurts like a bitch (pardon my language), and swallowing feels like a chore. I couldn’t sleep properly because my throat kept going dry and I kept waking up to sip some water. It’s horrible, I tell you. Horrible. What made matters worse were the insane body aches I had yesterday at the office! I was sore all over, and despite having a jacket on me, I still felt cold.

There are ways to soothe and relieve the stress from your throat. Drink warm liquids, gargle with warm salt water (which I plan to do in awhile), suck on ice chips, or take an over-the-counter medicine. Of course, getting enough rest, eating a healthy meal, and drinking plenty of fluids go without saying. You should already be doing those things, whether you are sick or not.

If all else fails, your best bet would be to make an appointment with your doctor. Because I’m sure as hell not a doctor either! But I hope my blog post today helped anyway.

Go to WebMD.com for more information on sore throats.

Leave a Reply

