My Weekend Review #1.

Here’s a roundup of how my Saturday went:

IMG_20160514_134856

Finally did my first spider plant propagation on Saturday morning. 😎😎 I snagged a bunch of spider plant blades plus the roots from the existing pot, and secured it with potting mix.

It was a back-breaking and ankle-busting chore as I had to squat most of the time while shovelling the potting mix into my mum’s small pot. I added some fertiliser (because spider plants don’t really need a lot of it), before covering it with more potting mix. When the roots were finally secured, and didn’t look like the plant would topple over, I gave it some water and put away my little gardening tools.

Adult spider plants take about a month to grow, while spider plantlets (baby spider plants) take about 18-24 months to grow. I used the roots of an adult spider plant, so we’ll see what happens after a month. In the meantime, please bear with me while I take notes and monitor its growth here. I already have a cat, but I don’t mind having another plant. It makes me feel more adult than I already am!

IMG_20160514_164550

There’s always a first time for everything, and this is something I have never done before. Wearing a somewhat politically-inducing T-shirt.

The Bersih rallies in Malaysia have their own set of yellow T-shirts for their supporters with hopes for clean and fair elections in the country. I’ve never owned one because you can get arrested just for wearing it here. You have to read it to know it. It’s a political issue and I’ll be honest with you, I’m not going to talk about it here.

So I’ve gone and done the next best thing (and hopefully the safest too!). I made an order for a #SaveMalaysia T-shirt from Teeyoot. It arrived yesterday, on Saturday, and I’m glad that the print design wasn’t politically-provoking.

The Future Depends on Our Dreams. #SaveMalaysia.

Well, that’s all it says. If people want to make a fuss about it, then it’s pretty obvious that you don’t have an imagination. Not everything is about politics and not everything should be turned into a war.

dav

What I liked about the packaging though, was their brown biodegradable wrapping paper and the piece of paper (above) that came with it. 😂😂 The creator / designer of the T-shirts has a really great sense of humour!

IMG_20160514_224425

Trying to sell off tech gadgets is a real pain. Especially if it is an old model, and everyone is using newer models now. Nobody will want something that is two or three series old.

When my husband finally found a buyer for our preloved Huawei Mediapad X1 phablet, it was a huge relief to us. We met up with the buyer at a Japanese buffet, barbecue and sushi restaurant where he worked as the Assistant Restaurant Manager.

If you hadn’t already known, selling a tech gadget to someone isn’t very straightforward. First, the buyer will want to play with the gadget. He or she will want to know if it functions well, how fast is the processing speed, whether it lags at some point, yada, yada. It is, in short, a terribly long process.

So what choice did we have? I was hungry and I needed to eat something. I ended up ordering some of my favourite sushi pieces (not cheap though) to stay upright. But the fellow was a kind one, and a nice one. He treated us to a bowl of seafood fried rice, obviously a marketing ploy too. We left the place happy to have sold the phablet and full of sushi and rice. 😄😄

IMG_20160514_223824

By the time we were done with everything, we were stuffed to the gills (my husband, myself, and a friend). So instead of going for dinner round two, we decided to have desserts for supper.

I had explained to my friend about Second Sunday, a cafe that served really good pancakes, or Strangers at 47 with their authentic flavoured crepes. Sadly, by the time we reached either place, both had already closed for the day. So we ended up in Sudo Brew, a 24-hour cafe and ordered their pavlova. And it didn’t disappoint. The outer shell was so light and fluffy that it literally melted in your mouth the moment it touched your tongue! It was really good! And it wasn’t very sweet either. 😍😍

Of course, the night could have been better if it wasn’t for my silly little accident. I accidentally crushed two fingers on my right hand between the automatic window and door frame of the passenger side of my car. The finger is swollen now (still is) and it hurts like a bitch. 😭😭

Leave a Reply

