Building a Mini Balcony Garden.

PL2000027236_card2_lg
A green and healthy spider plant.

When I bought my first condo with my husband, we were given a unit that had already been lived in by two previous owners. That made us the third owner-generation of the place.

When we finally moved in, the place was filthy. Dust bunnies and dust mites had parties all over the condo unit, in every corner, on every window sill. Thick layers of black dirt stained the walls and the floors. It took us an entire weekend to clean the whole place up. It even took more than two people to get the cleaning up done!

Now that we have finally settled in, a year later, I realised that my balcony was looking quite blue, bare and lonely. It occasionally receives burnt-out cigarette butts or random stray browned leaves as its visitors. Lord knows where the cigarette butts come from, but I’m going to assume that someone upstairs must have been having the time of his life. So I decided to spruce it up with some green.

Honestly, I’ve never been much of a gardener. The weeding was always done by my dad back in our family home, and my mum settles the watering of the plants. But I figured that maybe it’s time I did some on my own, and having a cat made me feel like distributing some more love elsewhere.

Spider Plant Propagation
I will be propagating my mum’s spider plant (left) to my own (right).

I started off with an already-flourishing spider plant from my mum, but now that the current pot is beginning to overflow with the mother spider plant and its baby plantlets, I guess it’s time for the plantlets to have a pot of its own.

But it hasn’t always been that easy. The knowledge of the spider plant’s toughness has been indoctrinated in my mind; that it is almost impossible to kill it so I thought it was fine being left under direct sunlight with the watering done once a day, seven days a week. Boy, was I wrong! The spider plant blades began to brown at the tips and the soil was hard and dry.

So I decided to read up about spider plant care and learnt that I’ve been doing the wrong things all this while. Now that I know better, with my second pot, I should also become a better gardener too. Life really gives you lessons in the most unexpected ways, and as long as you’re ready to learn and improve, you will become a better person.

For more information and tips on spider plants and its care and propagation, go to Gardening Know-How. It has everything you need to know (and more!) about spider plants.

2 thoughts on “Building a Mini Balcony Garden.

    1. Hi, my spider plantlets are sadly not doing very well because of the inconsistencies in the Malaysian weather. Some days, they can be really hot and dry. Other days, wet and cold. I do water them a bit more during the dry spells but I understand that spider plants can be quite hardy? So I’m baffled as to why it’s wilting instead. But the adult spider plant is flourishing!

      Like

Leave a Reply

