Don’t Let Your Dreams Die On You.

SAM_0225

Ever since my retrenchment on January 15, 2016, I haven’t been lucky enough in being re-employed and joining the rest of the corporate world. I sat for two and a half months at home, blogging daily, drinking tea, playing with my cat, gaming, and reading my books. I must admit, that wasn’t exactly the kind of productivity that I had in mind. I did apply for jobs, no doubt, but they all weren’t so forthcoming with positive results.

And then one day…

All it took was a simple ‘Thank-You’ email that I sent back to a company for giving me the opportunity of having an interview with them. That little gesture gave me a flicker of hope and a few months’ worth of salary. Three months later, I’m sitting in a comfortable and open-concept minimalist office with no more than 10 people, tapping away contentedly on my laptop and enjoying all the perks that the company offered. Although I am only here for a short period of time (I’m what they’d call a freelancer), at least I still managed to get something and it is one thing that is worth having.

SAM_0223

What I’d like to say is that we shouldn’t allow our dreams to fade away so easily. Don’t give up. Don’t let them slip through your fingers like fine grains of sand. Hold on to them, hold on tight, and never let them out of your sight. Times are tough and may get tougher, but that doesn’t mean you have to suffer. Have a little faith, believe in yourself, and persevere because you will never know when the next golden opportunity comes knocking on your door.

And you have to be present to open the door to let it in.

Leave a Reply

