Healthy, Wealthy and Wise.

early-to-bed-early-to-rise-makes-a-man-healthy-wealthy-and-wise
Image designed by Creator & Curator via www.canva.com.

“Five more minutes, I promise… Zzz…”

That’s what we always tell ourselves when our alarm rings at 9:00am in the morning, regardless of the day. That’s what we always say to the person who has been tasked to wake us up in the morning. And then you find yourself waking up at noon.

OH NO! Half the day has gone! And I only have [insert hours] of time left before the black tie event tonight, and I need to do [insert chores]…

Sounds familiar?

Everyone is guilty of this, as do I. You slog all week, clocking in productive hours, preparing hunch-backed tasks for your boss, powering through presentations for clients, and brainstorming with your colleagues. Some of us work long hours. By the time we get home, it is too late to do anything else. All you have time for is a quick shower, an even quicker meal and then it’s off to bed for the next day’s work.

So when the weekend comes, all you want to do is to sleep in. Dig a cozy grave under the covers, snuggle in with your pillows and snore the morning away. That’s what everyone wants to do. The ideal world in everyone’s head. In reality, the weekend is the best time to get things done, especially all the errands you never had the time to do on weekdays, the get-togethers you planned with friends, the shopping with your family, the games with your children, the parks with your pets, and the personal training sessions at the gym.

I’ll be honest with you. I’m a sucker when it comes to weekends. I always tell myself that I will be up early, at 8:00am maybe, go for a swim, have a shower and then go out to find some grub. I always remind myself to sleep early the night before. Read a book. Have a cup of hot fruit-infused tea. Relax. Go to bed.

Ha! That never happens! I end up sleeping at 3:00am and waking up at noon on Saturday.

Scientists and research have stressed time and time again the importance of sleeping early and having enough sleep. From reasons like having a healthier lifestyle to getting better bonking results with your significant other! Your body gets the optimum rest it needs to recover from the day’s work. Your mind relaxes, refreshed and rejuvenated after a good night’s sleep. Your focus realigns, your concentration sharpens, everything about you just gets better. You might even forgive the tea lady for not adding sugar to your coffee!

If I get the chance to sleep earlier (fat chance of that happening though), I will go for a swim when I wake up the next morning at a cool and refreshing time of 8:00am. Everytime I look at the swimming pool at my condo, its surface a shimmering blue glinting in the morning sun. I yearn for a swim, but I was employed then. Now that I’m not, I have all the time in the world to go for a swim, yet, I’m still that lazy fat hippo lounging in bed, feeling too lethargic and fatigued to move.

One thought on “Healthy, Wealthy and Wise.

Leave a Reply

