Hi, My Name is Jack.

jack-of-all-trade-master-of-none
Should you be a Master of None, Master of Some or Master of Everyone? | Photo by Seriously Men.

WARNING: This post may come across as a rant, a complaint of some sort. If you do not wish to listen to my disgruntled opinion, you are welcome to leave the blog.

SIX MONTHS AGO… JUNE 2015

I have been at my current company for six months now, having learnt the ins and outs of the place and teaching myself how to understand and appreciate Social Media and all that’s in this subject, how it impacts society and what should be done to help the business, increase revenue and profits, and improve the return-on-investment (ROI). I taught myself to table the reports, extract the data and study the insights. I read up on free and downloadable PDF guides on Social Media from the big boys (Social Media Examiner, Moz, HubSpot, SocialBro, Search Engine Journal, and Simply Measured). I did the research. I thought I was making some headway, some progress. Now I’m not so sure.

I thought I had a future with Social Media. Yet somehow, somewhere along the way, someone was reluctant to share their responsibilities with me, a fresh and new employee, to help expand the company online. I know, they have been in the company longer than I, and will understand the nuts and bolts of the company. They grew with it. They helped to shape it and build it. But that doesn’t mean they should get in the way and block my path.

SIX MONTHS LATER… DECEMBER 2015

Now I’m being regularly loaned out to other departments to help them on their projects or whenever they needed an extra pair of hands to help them out with a specific task.

Honestly, I feel like a blue-collared odd-job worker; a football player on loan to gain experience (if that’s the case, someone should say so); a lion tamer travelling with a circus group; a gypsy fortune teller looking for a new home. A pilgrim looking for a place to call home. I’m not sure where my future lies, but I know one thing’s for sure — I don’t particularly enjoy being contracted to a job which renews annually. I want to belong to a company. I want to have a permanent position which I don’t have to worry about being terminated after 365 days. I’ve been on contract for so long I don’t even know what it feels like to be a permanent employee.

I don’t know where my future lies. I’ve seen many colleagues start out with a six-month probation only to have them converted to permanent positions. I’ve lost count on how many times I’ve had to hold myself back to make sure I’m not getting emotional that after all this while, I’m still nowhere near being the team player that they need or want. I slogged so hard just to get my degree. I slogged so many years just to graduate. Having a degree now doesn’t sound like it’s anything to be proud of. I hope something turns up soon. I need a sign.

Leave a Reply

