Hit Me, Britney, One More Time!

britney_spears_baby_one_more_time
Britney Spears in her chart-topping, Platinum No.1 heydays of the 1990s. | Photo by Days with Destiny.

Once upon a time, when the Internet was new on everyone’s box-shaped computer. When songs contained meaningful lyrics, when singers and performers were not as skimpily-dressed and shouting out sex-heavy, bruised and battered lines.

Also, once upon a time when Britney Spears was the darling of MTV, and everyone’s fantasy. Every guy wanted to be with her. Every girl wanted to be like her. Including yours truly.

Today’s post will be a short one. A short declaration and dedication to one of my few all-time favourite singers. Britney Spears may have fallen out of favour with many of her fans today, after all the shenanigans and debauchery in the past. From a shotgun marriage to her childhood friend Jason Alexander, classified as one of the shortest celebrity marriages in Hollywood, to her three-year marraige to Kevin Federline, an American dancer and rapper, with whom she had two children (Jayden and Sean). Not forgetting the whirlwind romance she had with Justin Timberlake, her former Mickey Mouse Club member. And also the nightmare stage performances with a live snake and Madonna. These negative events of her past will certainly put fans off and make parents fear their children might turn out the same as she did. Though, if I am allowed my two cents worth, I think Miley Cyrus is so much more worse than Britney Spears.

Nevertheless, Britney Spears still remains my childhood and college-era favourite singer. Her classic hit albums, ‘Baby, One More Time‘ and ‘Time Out with Britney Spears‘ (1999), ‘Oops, I Did It Again‘ (2000) ‘Britney‘ (2001), ‘In The Zone‘ (2003), and ‘Britney Spears: My Prerogative‘ (2004) were among my favourite albums, and I own the first four albums. They are still with me but in my parents’ home. I still listen to some of her songs, especially those that were released in the 1990s. I used to listen to her songs over and over, until I could practically remember the lyrics and music videos.

The other thing that coincided with my interest in her was that both our birthdays fall on December 2, except that she was born in 1981, and I am 5 years younger. I suppose that’s the best part of my birthday falling on the last month of the year. She obviously does not know I exist though, but it is a nice thing to have in common with a singer, especially if he or she is your favourite singer too!

Leave a Reply

