Are You A Regular Customer?

Great service = Happy customers. | Photo by myguestlist.com
Service with a smile and prompt delivery = Regular customers. | Photo by myguestlist.com

Do you often eat at the same place? Or would you prefer to rotate your dining destinations? If you’re a regular customer at some eatery or diner, how often are you actually there? Until you reach a point where the restaurant service staff remembers you? Whether it is for your complicated order or that one time you did something memorable or amazing and you’re placed on a pedestal for that?

These are some of the questions that people ask of me when I tell them that I had dinner at some place again. Their reaction, as always, is, “OMG, not again! Aren’t you sick of the place yet?” And most of the time, my response is, “No, not really. I quite like the place, the ambience, and the quality of the food. Not to mention, the customer service is great too!” The regularity of eating at the same restaurant to me is not a big deal. In fact, I go back to the same place so often that sometimes, I don’t even have to place my order because the waiter or waitress remembers it and moves on to the next step (of either taking the other person’s order or keying it into the restaurant’s cash register database). Most people think that I’m weird for going to the same place, day in and day out, and not ever getting fed up of it. For me, because I have to have my cappuccino every morning before I go to work, I get it from McCafe. And it is the only place I would go to for affordable yet satisfying coffee. Even if my favourite barista is not at the counter, I would still go there for coffee.

My husband is also in the same situation as I am. He has a favourite lunch location near his parents’ home in OUG, Kuala Lumpur, which he’d go to whenever he has the chance to. Unlike me, he has been going there since his college days! I have only just begun with McCafe this year, while he has been going to his favourite food stall for years! Talk about customer loyalty. My husband and I actually have a few favourite joints to frequent but so far, McCafe is something I go for every morning and more often than any other place I go to. And my husband has been having his weekend lunches at the same place for years. So these two places are

However, having said all that, being a regular customer doesn’t mean the restaurant is flourishing. You could very well be the only customer who ever eats there! But that doesn’t stop me from dining there. If ever the food or service quality drops for whatever reason, then I might have to find a new place to frequent. Otherwise, I will still continue to go to my favourite restaurant until my dying days. Or the restaurant’s.

Question: What about you? Do you have a favourite place? Is it still operating? What would you do if your favourite restaurant / cafe closed down?

5 thoughts on “Are You A Regular Customer?

  1. I always have regular restaurants that I frequently go to especially if in need of comfort food. So far in Kuala Lumpur, I haven’t found that restaurant yet but I do hang around SS2 so often that my friends teased me that I should move nearer to that area!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Which part of Klang Valley do you live in at the moment? KL or PJ? I can hardly find regular spots in KL primarily because the prices there are slightly higher than PJ. I was born and brought up in KL but after I got married, I moved to PJ. I can say that the prices in PJ are slightly more affordable. So for me, PJ has far more choices for regular spots than KL.

    Like

Leave a Reply

