The Dell from Hell.

Someone once told me that Dell rhymed with 'Hell'. Yes, my first Dell was Hell. Now my work Dell is just as Hell. I don't think I want to buy another Dell because I don't want to go to Hell again.
Someone once told me that Dell rhymed with ‘Hell’. She was right! | Photo by Deccan Chronicle.

When I enrolled in college, my first laptop was a Dell. And it was Hell. After a year, the laptop began to show signs of wear and tear, and the battery life started draining by the chunks on a regular basis. And I only used it for college assignments and basic web surfing. I rarely played games on it because I was only a college freshman and didn’t know any games that I could play on my laptop, except for Solitaire and Minesweeper. Now I’m using a Dell again, this time for work, and it’s just as Hell. The harddrive crashed twice within the four months that I’ve been working here. I’m not sure what the reason was for the crash but I don’t think I want to get another Dell because I most certainly do not want to go to Hell again.

I’ve been constantly searching for laptop surrogates, mostly netbooks and ultrabooks. I have a personal Acer laptop at home but it is stowed away in a drawer of a cabinet as I rarely have time now to fire it up and use it. That is also because I’m pretty contracted to my work laptop, even on weekends. The real reason for downsizing is that sometimes I go away for a weekend or want to relax at a cafe, enjoying a cappuccino and maybe doing some web surfing or assignments. I don’t want to carry the 14-inch Dell Latitude 3450 all over the place as it is quite a hunk of metal to lug around. I’d prefer a smaller thing to tote with me in my slingbag or a carry-case that doesn’t require my biceps and triceps to work so hard.

So far, I’ve set my sights on the 13.3-inch ASUS Zenbook UX305FA. It is slim, thin and lightweight, all in one. It comes in Champagne Gold (looks rather classy), Aluminium Black (looks quite elegant), and Crystal White (looks very clean, much like a MacBook Air). Personally, I like ‘Crystal White’, since I like Apple products (and their white-themed gadgets). I like Apple for the size of their iPhones and the sleekness of their MacBooks. But I don’t like their price tag. Forking out almost RM4,000 for a MacBook does not bode well with my wallet (or me, for that matter). With that amount, I could cover a two-way trip to a five-star hotel in Phuket for more satisfaction than a laptop!

What I like about the ASUS Zenbook is its size and weight. Also that I can now rival my aunt’s Toshiba Portege ultrabook which you can lift the lid without having to hold the bottom half of the laptop. That’s a small issue, really. Not something you’d tell the storekeeper either. The ASUS Zenbook comes with Windows 8.1 but has the option for you to upgrade to Windows 10. It doesn’t have a capacitative touch screen, but that’s fine because I don’t like the touch screen option for my laptops anyway. I have enough of my DNA on my mobile phone as it is.

For now, the price is RM2,699 if I bought it at the store, or RM2,398 if I bought it online. I don’t actually have the cash ready to make a purchase, and I kind of have to sell off my Huawei tablet, the MediaPad X1 as secondhand and trade in my Acer laptop for a fee to offset the price for the ASUS Zenbook. Decisions, decisions. I hate having to make such hefty decisions. Especially one that takes most of my brain cells away, as if working during the day isn’t enough.

3 thoughts on “The Dell from Hell.

    1. Hahaha no worries. I don’t hate people for using MacBooks. I used a MacBook Pro in my previous job and I actually quite liked using it. But I can’t grow attached to it because I’m too used to Windows OS.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m too scare to go back to Windows OS because of Trojan horse and viruses. I tend to click on everything. Hehe! I’m still using Excel and Word though because not everyone is using Mac.

        Like

Leave a Reply

