Welcome Back, Friday!

Thank God It's Friday, people! OMG what a week! | Photo by Pinterest.
Twitter, Google, Instagram, Facebook stands for TGIF! I’m not sure what the ‘i’ stands for. | Photo by Pinterest.

Wow. Aren’t you glad it’s Friday already? Where have you been? We have been looking for you all week since Monday! Welcome back, Friday, and you know what? Can you please stay a little longer this time? Thanks. We could certainly do with a longer weekend.

Anyway… To reboot (or here’s a recap of) my morning, it didn’t begin very well. Actually, I kind of knew my Friday wasn’t going to kick off so well last night because my company laptop and I had a falling-out again. The hard drive died on me for the second time for no reason. Looks as though we don’t have a good “working” relationship, despite the fact that my colleagues also use the same laptop brand and model as I am (Dell Latitude 3450). I know it’s not something that I can avoid nor prevent from occurring. But it is frustrating, since you can never tell when the damn thing is going to crash and no matter how careful you are at backing up all your work, there will come a day when you slip up, and forget to save something. Then your laptop decides to buy a one-way ticket to oblivion and refuses to come back. The work that I have backed up are safe. The ones that I started doing yesterday are, well, gone but not totally gone. Yet. I hope. I’m praying for another miracle because the first time this happened to me, the IT technician managed to recover all my files. I’m starting to think the second time around, I might not be so lucky.

But let’s put all those behind us. The weekend is here and we should be grateful. I had plans on catching up on some reading and continuing my quests in Dungeon Siege: Legends of Aranna which I had recently started playing again. I used to play it a lot during my college days. Only when I started working did I not have the time to play. I also have a car service appointment on Saturday in the afternoon. But my current situation may put me back behind my company laptop to catch up on some work that went MIA with the crashed harddrive. I need to work a bit harder if I want to keep my job. The sad thing is I’m still on contract so I need to make sure that my contract either still exists at the end of June next year, or that I’m what they need and want and will proceed to convert my contract to a permanent position.

Alright, enough about me. What are YOUR plans for the weekend?

4 thoughts on “Welcome Back, Friday!

  1. I decided long ago that Dell rhymes with Hell for a reason. Yes, I know. I know. Most computer brands use the same components. But still. Dell Hell. I feel your pain.

    This weekend. Hm. First off, I haven’t tried Dungeon Siege. Good game? Makes me wanna blow the recently accumulated dust off of the xBox and have some gaming therapy of my own! Other than that, I’ll try to resist spending the entire weekend in bed. Reading is always on the agenda, and perhaps some anime. I’m behind on anime. 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi,

      Yes! I could probably agree with you right now. Since my Dell has gone to Hell for the second time now. Everyone is using the same model as I am but I’m the only one with the stinking harddrive. Ooh, you have an xBox! I’ve always wanted to get the PlayStation 2 but never got round to saving up for it. I usually read. Reading makes me feel relaxed and at ease.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I agree – I haven’t actually played in a while. And I didn’t blow the dust off this weekend! I miss my marathon gaming sessions, though. They aren’t that far in the past – but it has been a while. And speaking of the Playstation – I used to have the 2, but I traded it in for my xBox a while back. Now I want the Playstation 4. But I won’t let myself get it unless I start playing games steadily again. Right now, I’m back in full-on book mode (plus blogging).

        Wow I’m rambly this morning. Forgive me. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Hahaha, don’t worry about it. And you’re forgiven 🙂 Yes, the reason why I’m not getting myself any gaming consoles is because I don’t have the time for full-on gaming yet. Too busy building a career, see? LOL. Between the PS2 and xBox, which is better? Or it’s not something we can compare to, like apples and oranges?

    Like

Leave a Reply

