Drive Your Decisions Carefully.

Which would you rather have? A sedan or a hatchback? | Photo by Testdrive 360.
Which would you rather drive away with? A sedan or a hatchback? | Photo by Testdrive 360.

Do you often wonder what your choices would be as you grow older? What happens if you remained single for the rest of your life? Will you be able to find a Prince Charming to sweep you off your feet? Will you have that foot-popping kiss like Princess Mia in The Princess Diaries? Will you even get married in the first place? And if you do get married, what happens next?

When I was young, I used to think that varsity sweethearts were the way to go in having relationships and finding Mr. Right. No thanks to the media and Hollywood, I’m pretty sure a fair number of girls might have thought that they were relatively good examples to follow. I didn’t meet anyone in college or university, let alone having a varsity sweetheart. In fact, I met my then-boyfriend, now-husband in the most unconventional way ever! While we were dating, the thought of marriage never crossed our minds because we were still far away from that point in our lives. Only after dating for seven years did people begin to question if we were ever going to swing that way. To be honest, I’m not a big champion of legal unions. In an ideal world, I’d gratefully settle down and cohabitate with my partner instead of getting married. But, in society’s eyes, we would be sinning. Copulating without reason of lovely wedded bliss is wrong. So says everyone else.

So, we got married. Now what? Life doesn’t stop there, sadly. More questions are headed our way. Are we going to have children? Have we secured ourselves financially? Do we have a home big enough to house ourselves and the children? Why are we driving such a small car? Children? No, thanks. Financially? Please, every month we only get to break-even. We don’t even have enough leftovers to call it a profit. Yes, we happen to have a home big enough for the both of us, our junk and a cat. Small car? OK, what does a car have to do with having children?

No, really. We have a four-door car which has enough space to fit three people at the back. If we do have kids, they can all squeeze in at the back. Which now begs the question that hovers in people’s minds:

What manner of a car shall we get? A sedan or a hatchback?

It really depends on your needs. I, for one, cannot tell you which car to buy. Even families with children can afford to have a small car. What is your definition of “small”? Are you referring to a Smart-for-Two? Then yes, that is small. I have often wondered what sort of car should I drive. I happen to have a four-door B-segment car called a MYVI, a locally-produced car by the Malaysian manufacturer Perodua in 2005, and is based on the Daihatsu Boon (also known as the Daihatsu Sirion), Toyota Passo and Subaru Justy. The car is a result of Perodua’s collaboration with Toyota and Daihatsu. It is smaller than most other cars but the design proves to be rather spacious inside with enough space to stretch out your legs and able to fit four petite people at the back, or three somewhat bigger-sized folk. So it’s not really anymore smaller than your average sedan. Also, a 1.5 engine in a small car, expect it to go fast!

If I had a choice to make, I’d go for a sedan, something along the lines of a Toyota Vios, or between that and the BMW 3-series. Anything bigger like a Toyota Camry, no thanks. Parking will be a bitch if I drove big cars. At least with the MYVI, I get to slot myself in tiny spaces and not worry about anyone whizzing past and taking out my bumper. How I pick my cars, though, really depends on the appearance. What it looks like to me, whether it looks good or not and how well it works as a car. Does it look sleek with all the curves in the right places? Does it feel cosy and comfortable inside? How well does it run on tarred roads, trunk roads or off-road terrains? I don’t know much about cars in terms of it’s specifications but at least I know well enough of what a car should do for a driver and a passenger like me.

So if I had kids, then yes, perhaps I’d go for a sedan. Not because I have children. But because I have more junk to store and carry when we go travelling. As opposed to our current arrangement where it’s just my husband and I, a small car will do just fine. Having said that, just because I don’t have children doesn’t mean I won’t go for a sedan either. Because I just might. One day.

Leave a Reply

