Cold-Calling or Buzz-Email?

Would you rather: Call someone, text them, or send them an email? | Photo by The Computer Doctor.
Would you rather: Call someone, text them, or send them an email? | Photo by The Computer Doctor.

Cold-calling is common, but what the heck is ‘buzz-email‘? Urban Dictionary defines the word ‘buzz‘ as ‘anything that creates excitement or stimulus‘. Dictionary.com defines ‘buzz‘ as a ‘low, vibrating humming sound, like that of a bee, machinery, or people talking‘.

There was even a Google Buzz, which was a ‘social networking, microblogging and messaging tool that was developed by Google and integrated into their web-based email program, Gmail. Users could share links, photos, videos, status messages and comments organized in “conversations” and visible in the user’s inbox’. Though, this no longer exists.

My interpretation of ‘buzz-email’ is similar to cold-calling. But instead of picking up the phone to heckle someone for something, I shoot emails off. I’ll be ready to admit that I’m not much of a talker when it comes to telephone calls. It’s hard for me to gauge someone’s expression and tone across the telephone line, which reminds me, texting is even worse! People tend to be sarcastic when chatting over the phone or sending a text message but they don’t realize that it is difficult for the receiver to tell if you are being serious or sarcastic. Call me old-fashioned but it is actually quite rude to do that. Honestly, I’d feel insulted if I’m trying to be serious and there you are, preening on the other side and think it is funny to answer in a sarcastic manner. Don’t blame me if I “accidentally” hang up on you.

Okay, back to my point. It is a daily challenge for me since certain areas of my job requires me to make phone calls to specific industries or departments. It is probably an even bigger challenge for my manager to get me to make phone calls! Thankfully, I’m still able to get work done via emails. But I suppose nothing speaks volumes than picking up the phone and giving out an instruction or two to get a matter solved. I’m not sure why I feel this way, that nervous and fearful feeling of picking up the phone to call someone, afraid of being overheard, stammering, saying the wrong things. Can I call this ‘paranoia’? What is there to be paranoid about when calling someone? I don’t just feel it at the office. I actually feel this way when I have to call anyone but family, relatives, or friends. I’m more comfortable in my own skin talking to people I know over the phone, as opposed to trying to make a point with strangers.

Looks like the phrase “familiarity breeds contempt” doesn’t apply to me here. Which activity would you prefer? Call or email?

5 thoughts on “Cold-Calling or Buzz-Email?

  1. Actually, I’ll do both. I either buzz in first then follow up by an email a day later or I’ll drop an email and buzz in a day later. Anything to say “Hey, notice me!” to businesses. When calling businesses, it’s cold, directive and straight to the point however nothing to stop you from injecting a few warmth in your conversation once you get it going. To help you in your fear, I suggest perhaps you can come up with a simple script first then you can maneuver as you went along. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Oh, I normally call first. Then drop an email. Then wait a few days before calling again. But that’s what I have to do before calling. A simple script and lots of “psych-me-up” exercises! Oh boy, this is as bad as public presentations. Even though I’m not facing anyone over the phone!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You will overcome it. How I know? I used to hate cold calling until I kept doing it and doing it and improving my script until I get so used to it, I inject some unusual openings to create more fun for me in end I think people just remembers me for those openings. Lol!

        Like

      2. Ah, yeah, I noticed I’m doing a bit more cold-calling now. And I feel a little less stiff and awkward. I guess calling easy people are okay. It’s the stiff ones that make talking on the phone difficult. Haha, I think people will only remember me for my name. For some reason, they have difficulties pronouncing it, but when I say it, they go, “Ah, yes!”

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

