Book Review: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell.

Fanfiction vs. reality. Players: True nerds. | Photo by The Absolute Mag.
Fanfiction vs. reality. Players: True nerds. Theme: Simon Snow series. | Photo by The Absolute Mag.

I never wanted it to end but it did. It eventually did. I enjoyed the book so much that I constantly read it week in, week out. I easily covered several chapters a night. Before I knew it, I broke past the middle of the book. Then I realised that I was done with it after I turned the last page. It took me four weeks (about a month) to finish the book. This is a true bookworm’s dilemma: The book was so good that it repeatedly called out to me to read it. Yet, I wanted to read it slowly and digest each and every word because I didn’t want it to end.

Cather and Wren Avery are twins and are big-time Simon Snow fans. For those who have no idea who this Simon Snow is, just think Harry Potter. Literally. Simon Snow is marketed after Harry Potter, with the fictional Snow author called Gemma T. Leslie, and Potter’s creator is J. K. Rowling. They were all about Simon Snow, from the book series to the movies, accessories, wall posters, bedroom decor and fashion. The twins even had a fanfiction website where they constantly wrote Simon Snow fanfiction for their audience! Now that’s hardcore!

Until they both entered college. Wren wanted to experience college life, complete with the boys, booze and the parties. Cath just wanted to synchronize her Simon Snow lifestyle with her college one, not knowing if they matched or if she should just stay in her dorm room and write Simon Snow all day long. Wren allowed her life to be consumed by partying and drinking hard. Cath wouldn’t even stop thinking about Simon Snow. Not even after her roommate Reagan teased her about it. And then she met Levi. And everything turned topsy turvy. Wren learnt the hard way that joining every party isn’t the way to go, and Cath learnt that in reality, there was no way she could choose between Simon and Levi. Simon was fictional. Levi was real. Simon was just a character created in a book. Levi was real. Yes, real.

Everything about the book spoke volumes to me. I liked the casual style in which it was written in. I like how each character was given enough room to grow individually. The characters were given their own personalities, and were consistent from page one until the end. There was even time for the characters to hit rock bottom and fall over, before picking themselves up to start all over again. It wasn’t just all about sisterly love and boy-girl relationships. There were budding friendships in between, followed by speed bumps and potholes. I’d say that ‘Fangirl’ had a perfect balance of the good and the bad.

My only pet peeve was Cath’s unbelievable ability to cry at every unfortunate turn of events! It reached a point where I found myself quite annoyed at her so easily turning on the tear taps. When her twin sister ditched her. When the mother who left the family so abruptly, suddenly decided to make an appearance at the most inopportune moment. When Nick stole her story. When Professor Piper told her that she was plagiarizing.

Otherwise, the book was great. Thank God it’s mine. I might actually read it again at a later time.

8 thoughts on “Book Review: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell.

    1. Hi Rachel,

      Yes it is! 🙂 I personally liked it for the simplicity of the author’s writing style. I’ve read ‘Attachments’ and ‘Eleanor & Park’, but so far, this book still comes out tops for me. I hope you enjoy the book as much as I did! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Kally,

      Yes, it is a good book and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. Perhaps you can read the synopsis on Goodreads as well as some of the other readers’ reviews first before thinking of buying it. Because there were some books that others thought were great but after reading the synopsis and some of the other readers’ comments, I decided not to buy them. Once you’ve read their reviews, then you can weigh your options and decide better. I don’t know, it’s just a suggestion 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. So far, I haven’t regret a book that I bought. I may end up not reading what I bought because of the content or the style of writing but I’ll put it aside, knowing at some stages in my life, I’ll go back to it and find it attractive to me. I find that as I aged my taste in books and subjects evolve drastically. But nonetheless, I’ll still heed your advice and check out other comments!

        Like

      2. Oh yes, that happens. I used to be a big fan of fantasy and sci-fi. Magic, sorcery, elves, swordsmen and archers. Something like Lord of The Rings. But I don’t read those now. My taste, like yours, has changed. Over time, our interests change. It’s not a bad thing. It’s our way of evolving and exploring other areas of life 🙂 Hope you find what you’re looking for then!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

