A Housewarming Mission.

There's no place like home sweet home. Photo by Huffington Post.
There’s no place like home, except in your very own sweet home. Photo by Huffington Post.

The process often begins like this:

You see a place you like and you start saving up for it. You go on window shopping sprees and make little notes on what you might get, what you could get, and what you should definitely get. You dream of when you finally move in, and decorate it with as much flair and finesse as possible. The day comes and your dream comes true. You move into a new home, a nifty little place with everything you could ever imagine to have. You can leave your clothes on the floor, blankets unfolded, towels draped on chairs, and laptop in bed. Books on shelves, little knick knacks arranged at strategic areas. And for the finale – a housewarming party to show your new place to everyone!

But wait… Who should you call first? Your family, for helping you find the place? Or your friends, who helped you move in? Or your boss and colleagues who worked hard to cover your ass while you took days off to maneuver the move, settle the repairs and watched over the technicians? Should you call all of them and kill three birds with one stone? Or is it better (and possibly safer and easier to manage) to have three separate housewarming parties?

While you worry about who to call, another one sneaks up behind you. What happens when you do call them? What will they say about your new place? Will they have remarks on your choice of decoration? Will they have concerns on your cleanliness and how you’ve arranged your place to be? Will they try to pitch in and give you advice on how to run your household? Will you put your foot down and tell them that “What You See Is What You Get” (WYSIWYG)?

Everyone will have something to say, and will want to say something too. And it’s up to you on whether you want to heed their advice or not. Right now, we’re in that situation. My parents have told us that my grandmother is coming to see our new place and that we should organize a small housewarming session to include the rest of the relatives. I don’t have a problem with my friends but I do have a problem with my relatives.

While I know that they mean well, but for each and everyone of them to have something to say about how I run my place, sometimes I wonder if it’s a good idea to give them an invitation card with this in it: “Please hold your tongue and zip your lips because we have no intention of hearing you out. How we run our place is not wrong. It’s just our way of doing things.” After all, some relatives can be quite pokey about the way things are done. Especially if they think their way is better and that youngsters these days don’t know how to do things.

3 thoughts on “A Housewarming Mission.

  1. I did mine splitting my family into one party; and friends, colleagues and bosses into another party. It’s easier and I don’t have to cringe every time my relatives goes into hyper mode and started telling everyone my childhood stories…

    Like

    1. Oooh! I hate it when that happens! My dad did that during my wedding dinner. Oh man, what an embarrassing tale he spun after having a bit too much to drink. It was clearly face-reddening for me. I most likely may not have my colleagues over but I will definitely divide the party into two. One for family and another separate one for friends. Saves us on the cringeworthy issues, eh? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

