Coming Back For More.

Give them value for price and quality and they'll give you support and quality. | Photo by Hennessy Ford.
Give them value for price and quality and they’ll give you support and loyalty. | Photo by Hennessy Ford.

It’s all about customer satisfaction, customer loyalty and repeat customers. Many companies fail to wake up to reality and learn the positive correlation among all three. Satisfy a customer and you will earn his or her loyalty, and in turn, that customer will come back for seconds, and thirds, and very soon, you will have a repeat customer.

Is that so difficult to comprehend? What could you possibly lose? At most, you will only lose the capital that you pumped in from the start, or maybe the few extra thousand dollars that you were saving up for Nintendo Wii, but instead you decided to add on a few extras to improve your products, touch up your services, and gain better results. Is it so hard to do?

I speak from experience, albeit a small matter but still an issue to me. And perhaps to the next person if it happened to him or her.

I recently purchased a book from MPH Online. As a first-time customer logging in and registering for an account, I received a code for an e-coupon worth 20%. It’s not much, but hey, it’s still a discount and the purpose was to lower the price of the book that I wanted to buy. Following the instructions, I keyed in the code, selected my title, and checked out. However, the e-coupon failed to process and the 20% didn’t go through. I ended up paying for the book at its original price, which I thought okay fine, I will send an email to them, explaining the situation. A couple of days later, their reply pops up in my inbox, saying that the e-coupon is only for first-time purchase, and that it is not replaceable should anything happens in the process of checking out and paying.

Okay, that’s sad and that sucks. Really. Because I was looking forward to using the discount, and because as a customer, you’d also want to have a good purchasing experience with the company. But it didn’t pan out the way I hoped for, and worse, someone on the other side decides to give me canned and scripted responses about how the 20% is only for my first purchase and that it’s not replaceable. Which I can read from the ‘Terms and Conditions’ on their website.

The customer service representative doesn’t seem to know anything about happy customers and repeat purchases. Because each time I tried to get through to them that their system failed to process the coupon, and that this has nothing to do with replacements or however many times I’ve ordered from your online store. My point is that something has happened, are you going to fix it, and if you are, how are you going to fix it? If this happens over and over again, to other customers, how would it make you look to them? That your store dishes out discounts like ice cubes in a drink but they melt before your customers can get to them? Even if you were to replace the 20% discount, you’re not going to lose 40% because the first time around, the 20% did not go through. At most, you would only lose the 20% as if you would have if it went through the first time I made my purchase!

Sometimes I wonder if companies train their customer service employees on what to do when a situation like this happens. You don’t tell you customers outright that when something happens, oh yeah it happens but nobody will be fixing it because, yeah, shit happens. Okay. Then what? Oh, it’s “Business As Usual” for us now. Bye. Yeah, go tell that to every other customer if their 20% discount didn’t go through either.

2 thoughts on “Coming Back For More.

  1. To be honest, the first thing to go when its budget cuts for the company are customer service teams. When I was a customer service manager, the first thing I do is to request/fight/ask nicely for empowerment for my team from the top management. As long as each of the customer service representative have empowerment to decide, customers will be happy. What you have encounter here is not really “shit happens”, it’s more likely “my hands are tied, I don’t want to ask my boss for approval on your special case because I know she’ll only say no.”

    Like

    1. Hey, sorry I missed your comment. Yeah, I think they just didn’t want to go the extra mile in trying to help the customer out. Because I really wanted to connect with their online store as it was very convenient for me. But I didn’t like the way they handled the issue. For every question, email and phone call I gave, they gave me the standard reply: That the coupon is not replaceable and that it was for first-time use only. I knew that. I didn’t need to be reminded. Oh well. Haha, shit happens.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

