When I Read…

The world is a better place when I'm reading. | Photo by eBook Friendly.
The world is a better place when I’m reading. | Photo by eBook Friendly.

When I read, I find my surrounding falling away and fading, leaving me in a perfect world of fantasy. When I read, I find myself shrinking and disappearing, before slowly reappearing in the world of my book. Because when I read, the world is just better.

Does that happen to you? I find myself pulling away from reality, my circle of concentration engulfing me and the walls surrounding me eventually fades away. I feel as though I have stepped out of my current place on Earth and into the world of fantasy and imagination, and then into the world of my book.

  • In ‘Eleanor & Park‘, I find myself sitting at the back of the bus, watching the two teenage lovebirds sharing a comic or listening to a mix tape that Park had made.
  • In ‘Bamboo Heart‘, I found myself cringing with fear and horror at the pain and torture that Thomas Ellis and his comrades endured at the hands of the Japanese Imperial Army. It felt so real that I had to take short breaks from reading to let my mind rest.
  • In ‘All The Bright Places‘, I saw myself standing on the rooftop with Violet Markey and Theodore Finch as they decide whether to jump or not.

When I’m reading, the voices around me turn into whispers and the people around me turn into ghosts. Actually, I found out that I do this too when I’m listening to music at a loud volume while I’m driving. I noticed that I tend to ignore all that’s going on around me, and it’s as if I’ve become a spirit watching my physical self maneuver around traffic and weaving in and out of lanes. I noticed that I only do this when I’m stressed but it seems to be happening a lot more often now. Does that mean I’m so stressed that I’d rather not be associated with my own body?

Leave a Reply

