Cactus for Your Desk.

A window sill of potted succulents a.k.a. cacti. Photo by Flora Queen.
A window sill of potted succulents a.k.a. cacti. Photo by Flora Queen.

I’ve always wanted to add some colour to my work station, perhaps a dash of green or a collaboration of soft pastel colours that are gentle to my eyes after spending hours staring at the harsh light of the laptop screen. But I never know what type of plants are suitable for the office and whether they will be able to survive being indoors without so much as a ray of sunshine or given only a droplet or two of water. The only plants I know that will be able to last longer than most garden varieties are cacti. Being succulents, they are famous for storing water and can last a week at most until their next round of watering. My only problem comes when I need to bring them over to my desk from home. I suppose if I really wanted to do it, I’d find a way to do it. And if I really wanted to bring a plant to work, I’d just have to visit the plant nursery and find something suitable. Oh, and then I have to worry about the cleaner who comes and wipes down our desks in the morning before everyone comes in…

Hmmm… Decisions, decisions. But still, a cactus or two would be good. Especially the small potted ones.

Leave a Reply

